Recent Graduate Wins American Physical Society Award

Alumnus Nicholas Sherman (B.S., physics and applied math, ‘18) has won the American Physical Society's 2018 LeRoy Apker Award. The award recognizes outstanding achievements in physics by undergraduate students and consists of $5,000 for the recipient, $5,000 for their undergraduate institution's physics department to support undergraduate research, a certificate, and reimbursement for travel to an APS meeting to give an invited talk.

Sherman was recognized for his undergraduate research in theoretical condensed matter and mathematical physics. Working with advisors Rajiv Singh, professor of physics, and Bruno Nachtergaele, professor of mathematics, Sherman explored topics including quantum entanglement; the unusual magnetic phenomenon called highly frustrated magnetism; and theoretical quantum particles called anyons.

— Becky Oskin, content strategist in the UC Davis College of Letters and Science