Geerat Vermeij

Geerat Vermeij Elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Three faculty members from the University of California, Davis, have been elected as members of the National Academy of Sciences. They are among 120 new members and 30 international members announced by the academy May 3.

The UC Davis honorees are: Kate Scow, distinguished professor emeritus in the Department of Land, Air and Water Resources, College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Sharon Strauss, professor in the Department of Evolution and Ecology, College of Biological Sciences; and Geerat Vermeij, distinguished professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, College of Letters and Science. A total of 25 UC Davis faculty are now members of the academy.

Vermeij was recognized by the academy “in honor of his outstanding contributions to paleobiology.” Working especially with marine mollusks, Vermeij is interested in how predators and prey evolve together, and in how evolution, ecology and morphology interact. He has more than 200 publications, including five published books. In his book Nature and Economic History, he tackled the subject of economics and evolution, drawing close comparisons between the principles of both economics and evolution, and tied them to major trends in the histories of life and of humanity.

Read the rest of this article at UC Davis News.

Primary Category

Secondary Categories

College News