Herbert A. Young Society

Donors who give $1,000 or more each year to the Letters and Science Annual Fund become members of the Herbert A. Young Society, an honorary giving society. Young Society members make it possible to deliver best-in-class education to students by providing the dean with flexible funding to address critical priorities in multiple areas.

Benefits of Giving

Your gift to the Herbert A. Young Society will enable research opportunities for students and faculty, strengthen academic programs, create new areas of study and support educational ventures and take advantage of time-sensitive opportunities.

Members of the Herbert A. Young Society enjoy benefits including:

  • Invitations to exclusive Letters and Science events and faculty lectures.

  • Insider updates and news from the college.

  • Special opportunities to meet the dean and interact with faculty.

By joining the Herbert A. Young Society through an unrestricted gift of $1,000 or more, you will belong to an important group of alumni, parents and friends who are committed to excellence in teaching and research. You will impact the students and faculty of the College of Letters and Science and extend the promise of a quality education and research to change lives.

About the Herbert A. Young Society

Herbert A. Young
Herbert A. Young

Established in 1951 when UC Davis served primarily as an agricultural school, the College of Letters and Science sought to provide all students with a fundamental education, regardless of major. In its first decade, the college made an immediate impact on UC Davis under the leadership of founding dean Herbert A. Young.

Young came to Davis in 1934 as an assistant professor of chemistry. He was appointed chair of the department in 1940 before becoming the first dean of the newly founded college. During his tenure, Young recruited faculty including Richard Nelson and Jerome Rosen, who founded the departments of art and music, respectively. By the time he retired, the college had grown from 74 enrolled students to nearly 3,000, and included 23 major programs and 275 faculty members.