Honors and Awards

Professor Emeritus Wayne Thiebaud

Faculty Honors and Awards

Faculty in the College of Letters and Science are distinguished scholars and leaders among their peers nationally and internationally. They have been recognized for a broad spectrum of top awards for exceptional scholarship and community engagement, teaching, mentoring, and service to the professions. Among them are National Academies members, American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellows, Guggenheim Fellows, major prize and medal winners, acclaimed award-winning artists, performers, and scientists.


U.S. Presidential Awards

Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring

National Academy and International Honors

American Academy of Arts and Letters

American Academy of Arts and Letters Literature Award

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

American Association for the Advancement of Science

American Chemical Society

American Geophysical Union

American Mathematical Society

American Philosophical Society

American Physical Society

California Academy of Sciences

Geochemical Society

Geological Society of America

Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Media Psychology Award

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

International Statistical Association

National Academy of Sciences

International Awards

Australian Academy of Sciences

Hungarian Academy of Sciences

Japan Society for the Promotion of Science

National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Royal Irish Academy

Royal Society of Chemistry

Royal Society, United Kingdom

Royal Society of Sciences at Uppsala, Sweden

Russian Academy of Natural Sciences

Russian Academy of Sciences

National Awards

AAAS Mentor Awards: Lifetime Achievement

Benjamin Franklin Medal

The Pulitzer Prize

Bancroft Prize 

Annaliese Maier Research Award

Breakthrough Prize

2012 IZA Young Labor Economist Award

Other Grants and Fellowships

National Science Foundation - Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) Grant

Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award

The David & Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship

Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering (PECASE)

Presidential Faculty Fellows

Sloan Research Fellowship

U.S. Department of Energy - Young Investigator Award

William T. Grant Foundation Scholar

American Association for the Advancement of Science Public Engagement Fellow

Anonymous Was A Woman

Fulbright Senior Scholars

Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship

Humboldt Foundation Awards

Jefferson Science Fellowship

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship

National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowship

National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship

National Science Foundation Creativity Award - Special Creativity Extension

Pollock-Krasner Foundation Award

USA Fellowship Award from United States Artists

Early Career Grants and Fellowships

Chancellor’s Fellows

Chancellor’s Leadership Professor

Distinguished Research Award

Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching and Mentoring Awards

Distinguished Graduate Teaching and Mentoring Awards

Distinguished Scholarly Public Service Award

Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Barbara K. Jackson Chair of Choral Conducting

Barbara K. Jackson Chair of Orchestral Conducting

Bryan Cameron Distinguished Chair in International Economics

Gary Snyder Chair in Science and the Humanties

Jan and Beta Popper Professor of Music Composition and Theory

Paul A. and Marie Castelfranco Chair of Religious Studies

Robert Arneson Endowed Chair

Russell F. and Jean H. Fiddyment Chair in Latin American Studies

UC Davis Distinguished Emeritus/a Award

UC Davis Hellman Fellows

UC Davis Prize for Undergraduate Teaching and Scholarly Achievement