David Britt Wins Prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry Award

David Britt

UC Davis Distinguished Professor of Chemistry R. David Britt has been named winner of the prestigious Bioinorganic Chemistry Award from the Royal Society of Chemistry for developing state-of-the-art spectroscopic methods to characterize the active sites of metalloenzymes.

The Royal Society of Chemistry’s awards and prizes are awarded in recognition of originality and impact of research, or for each winner’s contribution to the chemical sciences industry or education. They also acknowledge the importance of teamwork across the chemical sciences, as well as the abilities of individuals to develop successful collaborations.

Britt is a leader in the field of bioinorganic spectroscopy and holds the Winston Ko Professorship in Science Leadership in the UC Davis College of Letters and Science. His primary research tool is advanced electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) spectroscopy, and he leads the CalEPR center, the largest center of its kind on the West Coast. Britt’s research on the structure and function of biologically significant enzymes has applications for sustainable energy, such as modifying photosynthesis to directly produce clean and useful fuels such as hydrogen. 

Britt is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and was awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Bruker Prize, the Gold Medal of the International EPR Society, and the Zavoisky Award of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Kazan).

Becky Oskin, content strategist in the UC Davis College of Letters and Science