Highly Prestigious Awards and Honors

Recipients of awards described as “highly prestigious” by the National Academies are recognized for outstanding achievements, extraordinary originality, leadership in their fields and innovative research, as well as the advancement of human knowledge and the betterment of society.

American Academy of Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Arts and Sciences is both an honorary society that recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members and an independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions, and perspectives to address significant challenges.


American Association for the Advancement of Science

The world's largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through its Science family of journals, AAAS has individual members in more than 91 countries around the globe. 


American Association for the Advancement of Science Mentor Awards: Lifetime Achievement
American Association for the Advancement of Science Public Engagement Fellow

American Council of Learned Societies

Formed a century ago, ACLS is a nonprofit federation of 75 scholarly organizations.  As the preeminent representative of American scholarship in the humanities and related social sciences, ACLS holds a core belief that knowledge is a public good. ACLS fellows and grantees are engaged in creating new knowledge that benefits our understanding of the world. 


Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship

Guggenheim Fellowships are intended for individuals who have already demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. The Foundation receives approximately 3,000 applications each year; approximately 175 are awarded.

MacArthur Foundation Fellowship 

The MacArthur Fellowship is a $625,000, no-strings-attached award to extraordinarily talented and creative individuals as an investment in their potential. 


National Academy of Sciences

Election to membership in the NAS is considered one of the highest honors that a scientist can receive.


National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship

NEH Fellowships are competitive awards granted to individual scholars pursuing projects that embody exceptional research, rigorous analysis, and clear writing. Applications must clearly articulate a project’s value to humanities scholars, general audiences, or both.


Pulitzer Prize 

The Pulitzer Prize recognizes excellence in journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of Joseph Pulitzer and is administered by Columbia University.